winter webinar background wix.png

Longwood Healthcare Leaders
Pre-JPM Stanford/San Francisco Webconference

January 5 - 6, 2023

The Longwood Healthcare Leaders Stanford/San Francisco Webconference brings together leading biopharma CEOs, heads of R&D, top academic researchers, and healthcare investors the week prior to the JP Morgan Healthcare Conference for an off-the-record forum focused on accelerating the translation of discoveries into medicines to help patients.

Featured Speakers

 
 

Winter Webconference 

​These meetings are off-the-record and focused on accelerating the translation of discoveries into medicines to help patients; substantial donations enabled by these meetings benefit Life Science Cares, The Boston Foundation, BSO, Harvard Medical School, MIT, and other charities. 

 

Thursday Agenda

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET 
LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION
Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

7:30 am PT / 10:30 am ET 
NEWCO TO ESTABLISHED: BUILDING A BIOTECH
Rahul Kakkar, Entrepreneur-Partner, Polaris
John McCabe, COO & CFO, DEM Bio

8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET 
BIG BIOPHARMA R&D
John Lepore, Head, Research, GlaxoSmithKline
Shiva Malek, Global Head, Oncology, Novartis

8:30 am PT / 11:30 am ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT
John Reed, EVP, Global Head, R&D, Sanofi

8:50 am PT / 11:50 am ET 
REGULATORY AND INDUSTRY ROUNDTABLE

9:10 am PT / 12:10 pm ET 
SOURCING AND IDENTIFYING NOVEL TECHNOLOGY
Marion Dorsch, CEO, Atavistik Bio
John Flavin, Chair, Pyxis Oncology
Paul Schimmel, Professor, Cell & Molecular Biology, Scripps

9:40 am PT / 12:40 pm ET 
STANFORD MEDICINE: ACCELERATING THE TRANSLATION OF DISCOVERIES
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford
Lloyd Minor, Dean, Stanford Medicine

10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET 
DEVELOPING HIGH PERFORMING TEAMS

10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET
CLINICAL TRIAL EFFICIENCY
John McHutchison, CEO, Assembly Biosciences
Ferenc Tracik, CMO, NeuroSense Therapeutics

11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET 
CULTIVATING AN ECOSYSTEM OF PARTNERS  
Heather Schwoebel, COO & CBO, Alloy Therapeutics
Moderator:
Al Beardsley, COO, Galera Therapeutics

11:30 am PT / 2:30 pm ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT
Ruxandra Draghia Akli, Global Head, Global Public Health R&D, Janssen

12:00 Pm PT / 3:00 pm ET 
MOVING FROM TREATMENT TO CURE
Mike Boyle, CEO, CF Foundation
Kathy High, President, Therapeutics, AskBio

12:30 pm PT / 3:30 pm ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT
Bob Langer, Scientific Founder, Moderna; Institute Professor, MIT

12:50 pm PT / 3:50 pm ET 
ADVANCING PLATFORM TECHNOLOGIES
Mark Exley, CSO, Imvax
Carsten Brunn, CEO, Selecta Bio

1:20 pm PT / 4:20 pm ET 
DESIGNING THE DEAL
Nauman Shah, Global Head, BD, Janssen

1:50 pm PT / 4:50 pm ET 

DRUG APPROVALS: INSIGHTS, OUTLOOK, AND COMMITMENT TO PATIENTS
Paulo Fontoura, Global Head, SVP, Neuroscience, Immunology, Ophthalmology, Infectious & Rare Diseases, Roche

Francois Nader, Chair, Acceleron

2:20 pm PT / 5:20 pm ET 
SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION: LAUNCHING COMPANIES FROM ACADEMIA 
Jeff Bluestone, CEO, Sonoma BioTherapeutics

Greg Verdine, CEO, Fog Pharmaceuticals
Moderator:
Joel Marcus, Executive Chair & Founder, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc./Alexandria Venture Investments

2:50 pm PT / 5:50 pm ET 
THE FUTURE OF DIAGNOSTICS
Kyle Lefkoff, General Partner, Boulder Ventures 

3:20 pm PT / 6:20 pm ET
MAKING SMART INVESTMENTS

3:50 pm PT / 6:50 pm ET 
LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY
Lucy Liu, Principal, Longwood Fund

 

Friday Agenda

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET
LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION
David Steinberg, General Partner, Longwood Fund

7:20 am PT / 10:20 am ET 
CROSS-BORDER COLLABORATION

7:50 am PT / 10:50 am ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT

8:10 am PT / 11:10 am ET 
INNOVATION IN RNA TECHNOLOGY
Sarah Boyce, CEO, Avidity Biosciences

Guillaume Pfefer, CEO, Senda Biosciences

 

8:40 am PT / 11:40 am ET 

FIRESIDE CHAT

Rupert Vessey, President, Research & Early Development, Bristol Myers Squibb

Joanne Waldstreicher, CMO, Johnson & Johnson

9:00 am PT / 12:00 pm ET
PLACING PATIENTS AT THE CENTER
Bonnie Anderson, Executive Chair, Veracyte

Simona Skerjanec, SVP, Head, Neuroscience, Rare Diseases, Global Product Strategy, Roche

9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET 
NOVEL THERAPEUTIC MODALITIES
Anirvan Ghosh, CEO, Unity Biotechnology

10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET 
RNAi REVOLUTION: THE ALNYLAM STORY
John Maraganore, former CEO, Alnylam
Barry Greene, former President, Alnylam; CEO, Sage
Moderator:
Christoph Westphal, founding CEO, Alnylam; General Partner, Longwood Fund

10:20 am PT / 1:20 pm ET
CREATIVE FUNDING STRATEGIES
Shalini Sharp, EVP & CFO, Ultragenyx

10:50 am PT / 1:50 pm ET
R&D COLLABORATION
Steve Hitchcock, CSO, Takeda

11:20 am PT / 2:20 pm ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT

11:40 pm PT / 2:40 pm ET 
NAVIGATING REGULATORY CHALLENGES
David Meek, CEO, Mirati

12:10 pm PT / 3:10 pm ET 
EARLY PREPARATION FOR PARTNERING
 

12:40 pm PT / 3:40 pm ET 
FIRESIDE CHAT
Anne Klibanski, CEO, Mass General Brigham

1:00 pm PT / 4:00 pm ET 
NOVEL APPROACHES TO DRUG DISCOVERY
Fabrice Chouraqui, CEO, Cellarity
Larry Hamann, CEO, Interdict Bio
Moderator: Jenna Foger, SVP, Science & Technology, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc./Alexandria Venture Investments

1:30 pm PT / 4:30 pm ET
PIPELINE OPTIMIZATION

Teresa Bitetti, President, Global Oncology, Takeda

Paul Sekhri, CEO, vTv Therapeutics

Moderator: Bruce Sunstein, Partner, Sunstein LLP

2:00 pm PT / 5:00 pm ET 
PORTFOLIO COMPANY PRESENTATION
Nenad Grmusa, CEO, Dem Biopharma
Joel Schneider, CEO, Carbon Biosciences

2:20 pm PT / 5:20 pm ET 
ACCELERATING DRUG DEVELOPMENT
David Soergel, Global Head, Drug Development, CVM, Novartis

 

2:50 pm PT / 5:50 pm ET 
FINANCING INNOVATION
Aleks Radovic-Moreno, Partner, Longwood Fund

3:20 pm PT / 6:20 pm ET 
LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY
Lizzie Ngo, Principal, Longwood Fund
 

Supporters 

​To learn more about getting involved contact sg@longwoodfund.com

ARE_RGB_Stacked_Tagline_300dpi.jpg
SUN__Logo_Tag_Web_color.png