January 6-7, 2022 webconference

The Longwood Healthcare Leaders meeting, centered on Stanford/San Francisco via webconference on Thursday, January 6 - Friday, January 7, 2022 prior to the JP Morgan Healthcare Conference, brings together leading biopharma CEOs, heads of R&D, top academic researchers, and healthcare investors for an off-the-record forum focused on accelerating the translation of discoveries into medicines to help patients.

 

 

 

LONGWOOD HEALTHCARE LEADERS WINTER WEBCONFERENCE | AGENDA | JANUARY 6-7, 2022

THURSDAY, JANUARY 6, 2022

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET | LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION

7:30 am PT / 10:30 am ET | NEWCO TO ESTABLISHED: BUILDING A BIOTECH

Phil Johnson, CEO, Interius Biotherapeutics; Rahul Kakkar, former CEO, Pandion Therapeutics; Mark McKenna, CEO, Prometheus Bio; Catherine Sohn, Chair, BioEclipse Therapeutics; David Southwell, CEO, TScan Therapeutics

Moderator: Luba Greenwood, CEO, Kojin Therapeutics

8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET | BIG BIOPHARMA R&D
Philip Larsen, Global Head of Research and Early Development, Bayer; Andy Plump, President, R&D, Takeda; Rupert Vessey, President, Research and Early Development, Bristol Myers Squibb 

Moderator: Luigi Gentile, CRO, BenchSci

8:30 am PT / 11:30 am ET | STANFORD MEDICINE: ACCELERATING THE TRANSLATION OF DISCOVERIES
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford; Lloyd Minor, Dean, Stanford Medicine

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

8:50 am PT / 11:50 am ET | REGULATORY AND INDUSTRY ROUNDTABLE

Janet Woodcock, Acting Commissioner, FDA; John Maraganore, CEO, Alnylam; Dave Ricks, CEO, Eli Lilly

9:10 am PT / 12:10 pm ET | EXPEDITING RESEARCH FOR TREATMENTS AND CURES

Christopher Coburn, Chief Innovation Officer, Mass General Brigham; Ray Deshaies, SVP, Research, Amgen; Raj Devraj, CEO, Rectify Pharma; Brian McVeigh, CEO, Code Biotherapeutics; Chen Schor, Chair, Carbon Bio

Moderator: Colin Hill, CEO, GNS Healthcare

9:40 am PT / 12:40 pm ET | SOURCING AND IDENTIFYING NOVEL TECHNOLOGY

Annalisa D'Andrea, President & CSO, ImmuneID; Pearl Huang, CEO, Cygnal Therapeutics; Jeremy Levin, CEO, Ovid Therapeutics; Ankit Mahadevia, CEO, Spero Therapeutics

Moderator: Beth Shafer, Head, Neuroscience, Drug Discovery Sciences, & Externalization BD, Takeda

10:10 am PT / 1:10 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT
Jay Bradner, President, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research; Julie Gerberding, Chief Patient Officer, Merck; former Director, CDC; Dave Reese, EVP, R&D, Amgen

10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET | INNOVATION IN CELL THERAPY
Jeff Bluestone, CEO, Sonoma Biotherapeutics; Jessica Flechtner, CSO, Genocea; Pascal Touchon, CEO, Atara Biotherapeutics; Krishnan Viswanadhan, President & COO, Be Bio

Moderator: Jak Knowles, CEO, Affini-T

11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET | CULTIVATING AN ECOSYSTEM OF PARTNERS  

Al Beardsley, COO, Galera; Pratap Khedkar, CEO, ZS Associates; Kabir Nath, CEO, Otsuka US; Lara Sullivan, CEO, Pyxis Oncology; Rafaèle Tordjman, CEO, Jeito 

Moderator: Michal Preminger, Head, East North America, Johnson & Johnson Innovation

11:30 am PT / 2:30 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Josh Sharfstein, Vice Dean, Public Health Practice & Community Engagement, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

11:50 am PT / 2:50 pm ET | HOW M&A SPURS INNOVATION 

Mark Enyedy, CEO, ImmunoGen; Henry Ji, CEO, Sorrento Therapeutics; Rachna Khosla, SVP, BD, Amgen; Stuart Mackey, Global Head, BD, Daiichi Sankyo; Christi Shaw, CEO, Kite Pharma

Moderator: Chad Shear, Principal, Fish & Richardson

12:20 pm PT / 3:20 pm ET | SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION: LAUNCHING COMPANIES FROM ACADEMIA

Ken Drazan, CEO, ArsenalBio; Chaitan Khosla, Director, Innovative Medicines Accelerator, Stanford; Bob Langer, Co-Founder, Momenta; Paul Schimmel, Professor, Cell & Molecular Biology, Scripps; Brian Thomas, CEO, Metagenomi

Moderator: Joel Marcus, Executive Chair, Alexandria Real Estate Equities

12:50 pm PT / 3:50 pm ET | ADVANCING PLATFORM TECHNOLOGIES

Paul Blake, CEO, Papyrus Therapeutics; Sarah Boyce, CEO, Avidity Bio; Steve Potts, CEO, OncoMyx Therapeutics; Carlo Russo, CMO & Head of Development, Genenta; Joanne Smith-Farrell, CEO, Be Biopharma 

Moderator: Jim Scibetta, CEO, ImmuneID

1:20 pm PT / 4:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Henry Gosebruch, Chief Strategy Officer, AbbVie; George Scangos, CEO, Vir Bio

1:40 pm PT / 4:40 pm ET | DRUG APPROVALS: INSIGHTS, OUTLOOK, AND COMMITMENT TO PATIENTS

Thomas Lonngren, former Executive Director, EMA; Rich Moscicki, CMO & EVP, Science & Regulatory Advocacy, PhRMA; Mike Rosenblatt, Senior Partner & CMO, Flagship Pioneering; Clay Siegall, CEO, SeaGen; Zhen Su, CEO, Marengo Therapeutics

Moderator: Belen Carillo-Rivas, Global Head, Regulatory Affairs, Saniona

2:10 pm PT / 5:10 pm ET | MAKING A BIG IMPACT WITH LIMITED RESOURCES

Bobby Azamian, CEO, Tarsus Therapeutics; Kerrie Brady, CEO, OcuTerra Therapeutics; Mary Fisher, CEO, Colorescience; Christer Rosén, CEO, Jupiter Neurosciences; Andrew Sternlicht, CEO, Aisa Pharma; Neil Weir, CEO, Sitryx

Moderator: Chip Clark, CEO, Genocea

2:40 pm PT / 5:40 pm ET | ACCELERATING DRUG DEVELOPMENT

Charlie Albright, CSO, Affinia Therapeutics; Amit Etkin, CEO, Alto Neuroscience; Bill Hinshaw, CEO, Axcella Health; Phil Pang, CMO, Vir Bio

Moderator: John Westwood, Partner & Global Life Sciences Business Leader, Oliver Wyman

3:10 pm PT / 6:10 pm ET | MAKING SMART INVESTMENTS

Ansbert Gadicke, Managing Partner, MPM Capital; Arjun Goyal, Managing Director, Vida Ventures; Sophie Kornowski, Senior Partner, Gurnet Point Capital

Moderator: Kyle Lefkoff, General Partner, Boulder Ventures

3:40 pm PT / 6:40 pm ET | LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY

FRIDAY, JANUARY 7, 2022

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET | LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION

7:30 am PT / 10:30 am ET | PLACING PATIENTS AT THE CENTER

Mike Devoy, CMO, Bayer; Ruxandra Draghia Akli, Global Head, Global Public Health R&D, Janssen; Melanie Goldey, COO & CFO, TMRW Life Science; Eileen Maus, CEO, Renovia; Armon Sharei, CEO, SQZ Biotech

Moderator: Will Lewis, CEO, Insmed

8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET | MODERATED KEYNOTE

8:20 am PT / 11:20 am ET | LEVERAGING MACHINE LEARNING AND NEW TECH

Lee Chae, CTO, Brightseed Bio; Iya Khalil, Global Head, AI Innovation Center, Novartis; Brian Martin, Head, AI, AbbVie; Sean McClain, CEO, Absci; Karen Nelson, CSO, Thermo Fisher Scientific


8:50 am PT / 11:50 am ET | R&D COLLABORATION

Hafrun Fridriksdottir, EVP, Global R&D, Teva Pharmaceuticals; Jim List, Global Therapeutic Area Head, Cardiovascular, Metabolism, & Retina, Janssen Pharmaceuticals; Deepak Srivastava, President, Gladstone Institutes; Skip Virgin, EVP, Research & CSO, Vir Bio

Moderator: Bill Mezzanotte, EVP, Head, R&D, CSL Behring

9:20 am PT / 12:20 pm ET | SPOTLIGHT: STANFORD INNOVATION

Alyce Adams, Stanford Medicine Innovation Professor, Stanford; Carolyn Bertozzi, Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H, Stanford; Catherine Blish, Professor of Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Stanford; Bali Pulendran, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Stanford

9:50 am PT / 12:50 pm ET | NOVEL THERAPEUTIC MODALITIES

Manuel Aivado, CEO, Aileron Therapeutics; Grace Colon, CEO, Incarda; David Gifford, Founder, ThinkTx; Jessica Grossman, CEO, IgGenix; Bahija Jallal, CEO, Immunocore; Reenie McCarthy, CEO, Stealth BioTherapeutics; Tamas Oravecz, CSO, Parthenon Therapeutics

Moderator: James Sapirstein, CEO, First Wave BioPharma

10:20 am PT / 1:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Hal Barron, Head, R&D, GlaxoSmithKline; Levi Garraway, EVP, Head, Global Product Development, CMO, Roche

10:40 am PT / 1:40 pm ET | RE-DESIGNING PARTNERING  

Mark Barrett, CEO, Lassen Therapeutics; Matthias Müllenbeck, SVP, Head, Global BD & Alliance Management, Merck KGaA; Nauman Shah, Global Head, BD, Janssen; Chris Viebacher, Managing Partner, Gurnet Point Capital

11:10 am PT / 2:10 pm ET | DEVELOPING A WORLD-CLASS BOARD

Nima Farzan, CEO, Kinnate Biopharma; Vanessa King, CEO, Tenpoint Therapeutics; Arlene Morris, former CEO, Syndax Pharmaceuticals; David Pyott, former CEO, Allergan, Inc.

Moderator: Pamela Contag, CEO, BioEclipse Therapeutics

11:40 am PT / 2:40 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Steve Hahn, former Commissioner, FDA; Mathai Mammen, Global Head, R&D, Janssen Pharmaceuticals

12:00 pm PT / 3:00 pm ET | CLINICAL TRIAL DIVERSITY

Al Gianchetti, CEO, XyloCor; Lynn Kramer, Chief Clinical Officer, Eisai; Maria Rivas, CMO, Merck KGaA

Moderator: Maria Whitman, Head, Pharma, ZS Associates

12:30 pm PT / 3:30 pm ET | FINANCING INNOVATION

Peter Bisgaard, Managing Director, Nan Fung Life Sciences; Chris Garabedian, CEO, Xontogeny; Ursheet Parikh, Partner, Mayfield

Moderator: Katherine Andersen, Head, Life Science & Healthcare, Silicon Valley Bank

1:00 pm PT / 4:00 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Marianne de Backer, EVP & CBO, Bayer Pharmaceuticals; Greg Divis, CEO, Avadel Pharmaceuticals

Moderator: Julie Kampf, CEO, JBK Associates International

1:20 pm PT / 4:20 pm ET | R&D TRANSFORMATION

Amy Abernathy, President, Clinical Studies Platforms, Verily; David Meek, CEO, Mirati; David Weinreich, EVP, Head, Global Clinical Development, Regeneron

Moderator: Glenn Gormley, Executive Chair, Daiichi Sankyo

1:50 pm PT / 4:50 pm ET | THE NEXT WAVE OF FINANCINGS: IPOS, REVERSE MERGERS, SPACS

Chris Cortis, COO, Tectonic Therapeutics; Matt McIlwain, Managing Director, Madrona; Brian Silver, CFO, TScan Therapeutics

Moderator: Ivana Magovcevic Liebisch, CEO, Vigil Neuroscience

2:20 pm PT / 5:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT


2:40 pm PT / 5:40 pm ET | NOVEL APPROACHES TO DRUG DISCOVERY

Stewart Campbell, CEO, Axial Therapeutics; Jane Grogan, CSO, Graphite Bio; Larry Hamann, Global Head, Drug Discovery Sciences, Takeda; Sharath Hegde, CSO, Herophilus; Cigall Kadoch, Institute Member and Epigenomics Program Co-Director, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

Moderator: Kai Wucherpfennig, Chair, Cancer Immunology and Virology, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

3:10 pm PT / 6:10 pm ET | INNOVATIVE PARTNERSHIPS

Paul Biondi, Venture Partner, Flagship Pioneering; Bing Chen, Head, Alliances & BD, AstraZeneca; Alban de La Sabliere, SVP, Global Head, Partnering, Sanofi; Heather Schwoebel, COO & CBO, Alloy Therapeutics; Amanda Wagner, CBO, Immunitas

Moderator: Philippe Lopes-Fernandes, CBO, IPSEN

3:40 pm PT / 6:40 pm ET | LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY

Agenda

Featured Speakers

 
Supporters

We are grateful to the following organizations for their support of this meeting. To learn more about getting involved contact sg@longwoodfund.com

ARE_RGB_Stacked_Tagline_300dpi.jpg

Our mission is to create and grow clusters that ignite and accelerate the world's leading innovators in their noble pursuit to advance human health by curing disease and improving nutrition.

For more information, visit: https://www.are.com/

Logo2020_Transparent_RGB.png

BenchSci's vision is to help scientists bring novel medicine to patients 50% faster by 2025. We do this by empowering scientists to run more successful experiments with the world's most advanced, intuitive biomedical artificial intelligence software platform, thereby avoiding delays that slow the progress of medicine to clinical trials. BenchSci is an indispensable tool for more than 41,000 scientists that accelerates research at 15 top 20 pharmaceutical companies and over 4,300 leading academic centers.

For more information, visit: https://www.benchsci.com/

FR13007-logo_RGB_300dpi_FINAL.jpg

Fish & Richardson, a premier global intellectual property (IP) law firm, works with pioneering life sciences companies to help them achieve their strategic IP goals through partnering, licensing, financing, acquisition, and enforcement. We do this by bringing a unique, holistic approach to our clients’ IP matters, fostered by the collaboration between our patent prosecution, litigation, and regulatory practices. We have helped our clients build valuable patent portfolios worth billions of dollars, score big victories at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB), and win bet-the-company cases in court. When life sciences clients come to Fish to build an IP strategy, they know that we will leave no stone unturned when crafting creative and comprehensive solutions to maximize the value of their IP. For more information, visit: https://www.fr.com/

GNS_Healthcare_logo_edited.jpg

GNS Healthcare is an AI company developing Gemini — The in silico Patient™ models from clinico-genomic data across oncology, auto-immune diseases, and neurology. In silico patients allow for clinical trials across cohorts of diverse patients to be conducted computationally by simulating disease progression and drug response at the individual patient level. GNS’ REFS causal AI and simulation technology integrates and transforms a wide-variety of multi-omic and real-world data to reveal the complex system of interactions underlying disease progression — constructing in silico patients. GNS partners with the world’s leading biopharmaceutical companies and health plans and has validated its science and technology in more than 60 publications and abstracts. For more information, visit: www.gnshealthcare.com

JBK.png

JBK Associates International is a woman-owned, global executive search firm that is a leader in the recruitment and retention of diverse talent across a wide spectrum of industries with exceptional depth in the Life Sciences. Our D&I expertise spans 19 years and supports our client's strategy for creating the most inclusive organizations with the greatest ROI.  We bring great leaders to great companies.

For more information, visit: https://jbkassociates.net

OliverWyman_rgb_k.jpg

At Oliver Wyman, our thinking and strategic advice helps clients in the payer, provider, digital health, and life sciences sectors realize their most ambitious organizational and operational goals by bridging the gap between their business today and their vision for the future. We are focused on creating positive change in healthcare and have built a community to share and shape ideas that will transform the industry and create a healthcare system that meets the needs of communities and companies. We bring a relentless pursuit of finding a better way to deliver care and solve the industry’s most complex challenges, many of which cut across the payer, provider, and life sciences sectors.  For more information, visit: https://www.oliverwyman.com

svb logo box color - standard_png - two colors (002).jpg

For nearly 40 years, Silicon Valley Bank (SVB) has helped innovative companies and their investors move bold ideas forward, fast. SVB provides targeted financial services and expertise through its offices in innovation centers around the world. With commercial, international and private banking services, SVB helps address the unique needs of innovators.  For more information, visit: https://www.svb.com/

zs_logo_RGB.jpg

ZS is a global professional services firm that leverages deep industry expertise, leading-edge analytics, technology and strategy to create solutions for clients that work in the real world. For more information, visit https://www.zs.com/