Longwood Healthcare Leaders Winter Webconference

January 5 - 6, 2023

The Longwood Healthcare Leaders Winter webconference brings together leading biopharma CEOs, heads of R&D, top academic researchers, and healthcare investors for an off-the-record forum focused on accelerating the translation of discoveries into medicines to help patients.

Past Speakers

 
 

Winter Webconference 

​These meetings are off-the-record and focused on accelerating the translation of discoveries into medicines to help patients; substantial donations enabled by these meetings benefit Life Science Cares, The Boston Foundation, BSO, Harvard Medical School, MIT, and other charities. 

LONGWOOD HEALTHCARE LEADERS WINTER WEBCONFERENCE AGENDA

JANUARY 6-7, 2022

Thursday, January 6, 2022

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET | LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION

Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

7:30 am PT / 10:30 am ET | NEWCO TO ESTABLISHED: BUILDING A BIOTECH

Phil Johnson, CEO, Interius Biotherapeutics

Rahul Kakkar, former CEO, Pandion Therapeutics

Mark McKenna, CEO, Prometheus Bio

Catherine Sohn, Chair, BioEclipse Therapeutics

David Southwell, CEO, TScan Therapeutics

Moderator: Luba Greenwood, CEO, Kojin Therapeutics

8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET | BIG BIOPHARMA R&D

Philip Larsen, Global Head of Research and Early Development, Bayer

Shiva Malek, Global Head, Oncology, Novartis

Andy Plump, President, R&D, Takeda

Rupert Vessey, President, Research and Early Development, Bristol Myers Squibb 

Moderator: Luigi Gentile, CRO, BenchSci

8:30 am PT / 11:30 am ET | STANFORD MEDICINE: ACCELERATING THE TRANSLATION OF DISCOVERIES

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford

Lloyd Minor, Dean, Stanford Medicine

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

8:50 am PT / 11:50 am ET | REGULATORY AND INDUSTRY ROUNDTABLE

Janet Woodcock, Acting Commissioner, FDA

John Maraganore, Former Founding CEO, Alnylam

Dave Ricks, CEO, Eli Lilly

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

9:10 am PT / 12:10 pm ET | EXPEDITING RESEARCH FOR TREATMENTS AND CURES

Christopher Coburn, Chief Innovation Officer, Mass General Brigham;

Ray Deshaies, SVP, Research, Amgen

Raj Devraj, CEO, Rectify Pharma

Brian McVeigh, CEO, Code Biotherapeutics

Chen Schor, Chair, Carbon Bio

Moderator: Colin Hill, CEO, GNS Healthcare

9:40 am PT / 12:40 pm ET | SOURCING AND IDENTIFYING NOVEL TECHNOLOGY

Annalisa D'Andrea, President & CSO, ImmuneID

Pearl Huang, CEO, Cygnal Therapeutics

Jeremy Levin, CEO, Ovid Therapeutics

Ankit Mahadevia, CEO, Spero Therapeutics

Matthew Porteus, Scientific Founder, Graphite Bio

Moderator: Beth Shafer, Head, Neuroscience, Drug Discovery Sciences, & Externalization BD, Takeda

10:10 am PT / 1:10 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Jay Bradner, President, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

Julie Gerberding, Chief Patient Officer, Merck; former Director, CDC

Dave Reese, EVP, R&D, Amgen

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET | INNOVATION IN CELL THERAPY

Jeff Bluestone, CEO, Sonoma Biotherapeutics

Jessica Flechtner, CSO, Genocea

Pascal Touchon, CEO, Atara Biotherapeutics

Krishnan Viswanadhan, President & COO, Be Bio

Moderator: Jak Knowles, CEO, Affini-T

11:00 am PT / 2:00 pm ET | CULTIVATING AN ECOSYSTEM OF PARTNERS  

Al Beardsley, COO, Galera 

Pratap Khedkar, CEO, ZS Associates

Kabir Nath, CEO, Otsuka US

Rafaèle Tordjman, CEO, Jeito 

Moderator: Michal Preminger, Head, East North America, Johnson & Johnson Innovation

11:30 am PT / 2:30 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Anne Klibanski, President & CEO, Mass General Brigham

Josh Sharfstein, Vice Dean, Public Health Practice & Community Engagement, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

11:50 am PT / 2:50 pm ET | HOW M&A SPURS INNOVATION 

Mark Enyedy, CEO, ImmunoGen

Henry Ji, CEO, Sorrento Therapeutics

Rachna Khosla, SVP, BD, Amgen

Stuart Mackey, Global Head, BD, Daiichi Sankyo

Moderator: Chad Shear, Principal, Fish & Richardson

12:20 pm PT / 3:20 pm ET | SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION: LAUNCHING COMPANIES FROM ACADEMIA

Ken Drazan, CEO, ArsenalBio

Chaitan Khosla, Director, Innovative Medicines Accelerator, Stanford;

Bob Langer, Co-Founder, Momenta

Paul Schimmel, Professor, Cell & Molecular Biology, Scripps;

Brian Thomas, CEO, Metagenomi

Moderator: Joel Marcus, Executive Chair, Alexandria Real Estate Equities/ Alexandria Venture Investments

12:50 pm PT / 3:50 pm ET | ADVANCING PLATFORM TECHNOLOGIES

Paul Blake, CEO, Papyrus Therapeutics

Sarah Boyce, CEO, Avidity Bio

Steve Potts, CEO, OncoMyx Therapeutics

Carlo Russo, CMO & Head of Development, Genenta

Joanne Smith-Farrell, CEO, Be Bio

Moderator: Jim Scibetta, CEO, ImmuneID

1:20 pm PT / 4:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Henry Gosebruch, Chief Strategy Officer, AbbVie

Bob Langer, Co-Founder, Momenta

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

1:40 pm PT / 4:40 pm ET | DRUG APPROVALS: INSIGHTS, OUTLOOK, AND COMMITMENT TO PATIENTS

Thomas Lonngren, former Executive Director, EMA

Rich Moscicki, CMO & EVP, Science & Regulatory Advocacy, PhRMA

Mike Rosenblatt, Senior Partner & CMO, Flagship Pioneering

Clay Siegall, CEO, SeaGen

Zhen Su, CEO, Marengo Therapeutics

Moderator: Belen Carillo-Rivas, Global Head, Regulatory Affairs, Saniona

2:10 pm PT / 5:10 pm ET | MAKING A BIG IMPACT WITH LIMITED RESOURCES

Bobby Azamian, CEO, Tarsus Therapeutics

Kerrie Brady, CEO, OcuTerra Therapeutics

Mary Fisher, CEO, Colorescience

Christer Rosén, CEO, Jupiter Neurosciences

Andrew Sternlicht, CEO, Aisa Pharma

Neil Weir, CEO, Sitryx

Moderator: Chip Clark, CEO, Genocea

2:40 pm PT / 5:40 pm ET | ACCELERATING DRUG DEVELOPMENT

Tina Albertson, CMO, Lyell Immunopharma

Charlie Albright, CSO, Affinia Therapeutics

Amit Etkin, CEO, Alto Neuroscience

Bill Hinshaw, CEO, Axcella Therapeutics

Moderator: John Westwood, Partner & Global Life Sciences Business Leader, Oliver Wyman

3:10 pm PT / 6:10 pm ET | MAKING SMART INVESTMENTS

Ansbert Gadicke, Managing Partner, MPM Capital

Arjun Goyal, Managing Director, Vida Ventures

Sophie Kornowski, Senior Partner, Gurnet Point Capital

Moderator: Kyle Lefkoff, General Partner, Boulder Ventures

3:40 pm PT / 6:40 pm ET | LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY

Aleks Radovic-Moreno, Partner, Longwood Fund

Friday, January 7, 2022

7:00 am PT / 10:00 am ET | LONGWOOD FUND INTRODUCTION

David Steinberg, General Partner, Longwood Fund

7:30 am PT / 10:30 am ET | PLACING PATIENTS AT THE CENTER

Mike Devoy, CMO, Bayer

Ruxandra Draghia Akli, Global Head, Global Public Health R&D, Janssen

Melanie Goldey, COO & CFO, TMRW Life Science

Eileen Maus, CEO, Renovia

Armon Sharei, CEO, SQZ Biotech

Moderator: Will Lewis, CEO, Insmed

8:00 am PT / 11:00 am ET | FIRESIDE CHAT: GOING THE DISTANCE FOR PATIENT CARE: LEADING FROM THE FRONT

Greg Divis, CEO, Avadel Pharmaceuticals

Christi Shaw, CEO, Kite Pharma

Moderator: Julie Kampf, CEO, JBK Associates International

8:20 am PT / 11:20 am ET | LEVERAGING MACHINE LEARNING AND NEW TECH

Paul Belcher, Global Product Strategy Manager, Cytiva

Lee Chae, CTO, Brightseed Bio

William Greene, CEO, Fountain Therapeutics

Iya Khalil, Global Head, AI Innovation Center, Novartis

Brian Martin, Head, AI, AbbVie

Karen Nelson, CSO, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Moderator: Sean McClain, CEO, Absci


8:50 am PT / 11:50 am ET | R&D COLLABORATION

Hafrun Fridriksdottir, EVP, Global R&D, Teva Pharmaceuticals

Jim List, Global Therapeutic Area Head, Cardiovascular, Metabolism, & Retina, Janssen Pharmaceuticals

Deepak Srivastava, President, Gladstone Institutes

Skip Virgin, EVP, Research & CSO, Vir Bio

Moderator: Bill Mezzanotte, EVP, Head, R&D, CSL Behring

9:20 am PT / 12:20 pm ET | SPOTLIGHT: STANFORD INNOVATION

Alyce Adams, Stanford Medicine Innovation Professor, Stanford

Catherine Blish, Professor of Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Stanford

Bali Pulendran, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Stanford

​Moderator: Carolyn Bertozzi, Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H, Stanford

9:50 am PT / 12:50 pm ET | NOVEL THERAPEUTIC MODALITIES

Manuel Aivado, CEO, Aileron Therapeutics

Grace Colon, CEO, Incarda

David Gifford, Founder, ThinkTx

Jessica Grossman, CEO, IgGenix

Bahija Jallal, CEO, Immunocore

Reenie McCarthy, CEO, Stealth BioTherapeutics

Tamas Oravecz, CSO, Parthenon Therapeutics

Moderator: James Sapirstein, CEO, First Wave BioPharma

10:20 am PT / 1:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Hal Barron, Head, R&D, GlaxoSmithKline

Levi Garraway, EVP, Head, Global Product Development, CMO, Roche

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

10:40 am PT / 1:40 pm ET | RE-DESIGNING PARTNERING  

Gerald Commissiong, CEO, Todos Medical

Matthias Müllenbeck, SVP, Head, Global BD & Alliance Management, Merck KGaA

Nauman Shah, Global Head, BD, Janssen

Chris Viehbacher, Managing Partner, Gurnet Point Capital

Moderator: Mark Barrett, CEO, Lassen Therapeutics

11:10 am PT / 2:10 pm ET | DEVELOPING A WORLD-CLASS BOARD

Nima Farzan, CEO, Kinnate Biopharma

Vanessa King, CEO, Tenpoint Therapeutics

Arlene Morris, former CEO, Syndax Pharmaceuticals

David Pyott, former CEO, Allergan, Inc.

Moderator: Pamela Contag, CEO, BioEclipse Therapeutics

11:40 am PT / 2:40 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Steve Hahn, former Commissioner, FDA

Mathai Mammen, EVP, Pharmaceuticals R&D, Johnson & Johnson

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund

12:00 pm PT / 3:00 pm ET | CLINICAL TRIAL DIVERSITY

Jung Choi, Chief Business and Strategy Officer, Global Blood Therapeutics

Al Gianchetti, CEO, XyloCor

Lynn Kramer, Chief Clinical Officer, Eisai

Maria Rivas, CMO, Merck KGaA

Moderator: Sharon Karlsberg, Principal, ZS Associates

12:30 pm PT / 3:30 pm ET | FINANCING INNOVATION

Peter Bisgaard, Managing Director, Nan Fung Life Sciences

Chris Garabedian, CEO, Xontogeny

Ursheet Parikh, Partner, Mayfield

Moderator: Katherine Andersen, Head, Life Science & Healthcare, Silicon Valley Bank

1:00 pm PT / 4:00 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Jeremy Levin, CEO, Ovid Therapeutics

Clay Siegall, CEO, Seagen

Moderator: David Steinberg, General Partner, Longwood Fund

1:20 pm PT / 4:20 pm ET | R&D TRANSFORMATION

Amy Abernethy, President, Clinical Studies Platforms, Verily

Robert Blum, CEO, Cytokinetics

David Meek, CEO, Mirati

David Weinreich, EVP, Head, Global Clinical Development, Regeneron

Moderator: Glenn Gormley, Executive Chair, Daiichi Sankyo

1:50 pm PT / 4:50 pm ET | THE NEXT WAVE OF FINANCINGS: IPOS, REVERSE MERGERS, SPACS

Brian Frenzel, CEO, Tosk;

Matt McIlwain, Managing Director, Madrona;

Brian Silver, CFO, TScan Therapeutics

Moderator: Chris Cortis, COO, Tectonic Therapeutics  

2:20 pm PT / 5:20 pm ET | FIRESIDE CHAT

Bob Nelsen, Managing Director, ARCH Venture Partners;

Chris Viehbacher, Managing Partner, Gurnet Point Capital

Moderator: Christoph Westphal, General Partner, Longwood Fund


2:40 pm PT / 5:40 pm ET | NOVEL APPROACHES TO DRUG DISCOVERY

Stewart Campbell, CEO, Axial Therapeutics

Larry Hamann, Global Head, Drug Discovery Sciences, Takeda

Sharath Hegde, CSO, Herophilus

Cigall Kadoch, Associate Professor, Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Moderator: Kai Wucherpfennig, Chair, Cancer Immunology and Virology, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

3:10 pm PT / 6:10 pm ET | INNOVATIVE PARTNERSHIPS

Bing Chen, Head, Alliances & BD, AstraZeneca

Alban de La Sabliere, SVP, Global Head, Partnering, Sanofi

Heather Schwoebel, COO & CBO, Alloy Therapeutics

Amanda Wagner, CBO, Immunitas

Moderator: Philippe Lopes-Fernandes, CBO, IPSEN

3:40 pm PT / 6:40 pm ET | LONGWOOD FUND SUMMARY

Aleks Radovic-Moreno, Partner, Longwood Fund

 
 
 

​To learn more about getting involved contact sg@longwoodfund.com

Supporters